PDA

View Full Version : Oases



Essence
26 Mar 2009, 10:04 AM
Oases

For each oasis you conquer, you get a 25% or a 50% resource production boost. Each village can have up to three oases each, which can add up to a lot of extra resources. This guide covers how to get an oasis, what each oasis is and the resource boost you get for each oasis.


How to conquer an oasis

To conquer an oasis you need;


A hero (to build a hero, you need a hero's mansion)
A hero's mansion (you can conquer one oasis at level 10, level 15 and level 20)
Enough troops to clear the oasis


Firstly, oases are protected by nature's troops (the animals). To see what is in an oasis, click on it and there is a list like this;


http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/unoccupiedoasis.jpg

To clear the oasis, you need to send a raid to the oasis and kill the animals in it. Nature's troops can be quite strong, so remember to use the combat sim first! Remember, if you clear an oasis, the animals will slowly return, so don't leave it too long to conquer and as the server progresses, there will be more animals in each oasis.

Once the oasis is clear, you have to raid it again with your hero. The hero must be sent from the village that you have a level 10, 15 or 20 hero's mansion. You should send some troops with the hero to make sure it survives, even if the oasis is empty! Obviously, if you have enough troops, you can clear the oasis with your troops and the hero, and capture it in one attack.

Once you have captured the oasis, you can click on the hero's mansion, and it will show how many oases you have conquered;


http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/hm1.jpg

If you click on the green text oases, it will then show which oases you have conquered from that village;


http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/hm2.jpg


To conquer an oasis from another player, the process is the same, but it will take up to three attacks to lower the oasis loyalty.

Nb; Any oasis you want to take must be in your 7x7!


http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/oasisin7x7.jpg

If your village is the one squared in yellow, then those in the pink squares can be conquered by it. Those with the black Xs are too far away and cannot be taken by that village.



What are the different oasis types?

There are five types of oasis; wood, clay, iron, wheat and wood/clay/iron and wheat combinations. You can tell what bonus an oasis will give by what it looks like;

25% Wood bonus


http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/wood1.gif
http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/wood2.gif

25% Clay bonus


http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/clay1.gif
http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/clay2.gif


25% Iron bonus


http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/iron2.gif
http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/iron1.gif

25% Wheat bonus


http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/wheat1.gif
http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/wheat2.gif

50% Wheat bonus


http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/50wheat.gif

25% Wood 25% Wheat bonus


http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/woodnwheat.gif

25% Clay 25% Wheat bonus


http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/claynwheat.gif

25% Iron 25% Wheat bonus


http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c286/ellaskye/ironnwheat.gif


The bonus works only in the village the oasis is conquered from. It is a bonus from the raw production of a field, so it won't increase with the factories, or the gold production bonus.

Remember, an oasis can be raided by enemies like any of your villages so make sure you keep some scouts and defence in the oasis! Reinforcements for or attacks on an oasis will show up as purple on your screen. If someone raids your oasis, they take 10% of the resources from the town that took the oasis. If you raid your own oasis, you are raiding yourself :P

Essence
26 Mar 2009, 10:06 AM
Haha so sheer boredom lead me to make this, because a lot of people were asking about oases in the question thread

Let me know what I've missed out, I'm sure there's something :P

Scarlet
26 Mar 2009, 10:20 AM
Maybe add that if people raid your oasis they get 10% of the resources in the village its attached to...
and if you raid your own oasis then you are stealing the resources from yourself ;)

Essence
26 Mar 2009, 10:22 AM
Done :) Ah the days I thought I was getting unlimited resources from my own oasis :o

slicky
26 Mar 2009, 10:49 AM
lol that was a big list too read

jez2
26 Mar 2009, 11:22 AM
Nice guide :)

I've always been a bit fuzzy on how raiding an oasis works. If you repeatedly hit it, does it give you 10% each time? I had a random suspicion you got less each time :confused:

Scarlet
26 Mar 2009, 12:03 PM
well if you take 10% then the warehouse will have 10% less...
1000 in warehouse - you take 100
so next time you get 10% of the 900 remaining - 90...

saaam
26 Mar 2009, 01:01 PM
Are you sure? I thought it stored 10% of resources, and if you repeatedly hit it you can only take from that 10% but every so often if refills itself.

Not sure though.

Essence
26 Mar 2009, 01:03 PM
Nice guide :)

I've always been a bit fuzzy on how raiding an oasis works. If you repeatedly hit it, does it give you 10% each time? I had a random suspicion you got less each time :confused:


well if you take 10% then the warehouse will have 10% less...
1000 in warehouse - you take 100
so next time you get 10% of the 900 remaining - 90...

Or if you hit an unoccuppied one, you will get 400 400 400 400... but it has to replenish itself after that...

Essence
26 Mar 2009, 01:06 PM
Are you sure? I thought it stored 10% of resources, and if you repeatedly hit it you can only take from that 10% but every so often if refills itself.

Not sure though.

No, 10% everytime...

dragon5
26 Mar 2009, 04:05 PM
Another good guide:D

dnnyk1
26 Mar 2009, 04:54 PM
I agree very helpful well done

Jordan-Caso
26 Mar 2009, 05:31 PM
Trouble with spelling Oasis ? And you teach English ? :D

Ha only joking :P

dnnyk1
26 Mar 2009, 05:38 PM
Trouble with spelling Oasis ? And you teach English ? :D

Ha only joking :P

Who are you talking about?

Essence
26 Mar 2009, 08:29 PM
I don't get it? :(

& this character filter is really getting on my wick now...

ViRuS
27 Mar 2009, 07:23 PM
Worst guide ever written by a noob.
________
Headshop (http://headshop.net/)

Essence
28 Mar 2009, 10:57 PM
Worst guide ever written by a noob.

Naughty pumpkin! Back in your box! :eek:

Radar_1
02 Apr 2009, 09:10 PM
Very good guide. well laid out aswell 10/10

Groggers
03 Apr 2009, 12:41 PM
Trouble with spelling Oasis ? And you teach English ? :D

Ha only joking :P

Plural of oasis is oases.
/fail Jord.
:D

Well written and informative. ^_^

Essence
03 Apr 2009, 01:03 PM
Very good guide. well laid out aswell 10/10


Plural of oasis is oases.
/fail Jord.
:D

Well written and informative. ^_^

Thanks you guys <3

VelvetThighs
03 Apr 2009, 08:09 PM
Very good guide, putting a link to it in the oases section of my guide, as this is far more detailed :)

caronjellybaby
06 Apr 2009, 03:48 PM
THis guide was really helpful. Thanks

prince charming
25 Apr 2009, 10:24 PM
Cheers, found this very useful on the new server I started.

Cretin
29 Apr 2009, 04:48 PM
When you raid an oasis you take 10% of res from warehouse/granary

every minute for the next 10 mins 1% of your warehouse/granary is reloaded into oasis - therefore 10mins later 10% can be raided again

therefore if your oasis is under attack, you can attack your own oasis immediately before and the enemy will get no resources - and don't be stupid enough to attach oases to your army town so the enemy doesn't raid all your wheat away :D



maybe add:
when farming oases for hero experience (note generally done with ultimate cavalry heroes) clay and iron oases have animals with the weakest cavalry defense, so sending a hero with 20 off points at clay/iron oases will survive generally while sending him at wheat/wood oases (high cav defense) will kill a lot more...or something along those lines - it's not widely known I think...

mwoollam
03 May 2009, 05:32 PM
when you scout an occupied oasis, is the resources listed the 10% of the occupying villages res?

Cretin
03 May 2009, 08:37 PM
when you scout an occupied oasis, is the resources listed the 10% of the occupying villages res?

no, I have no idea what value the resources scouted is, but it is not 10% of what is there...I have repeatedly scouted people that have said like '700/1000/300/1000' in oasis, then I attack and get 50k from it...

superarthur
13 May 2009, 04:40 PM
Do you get 3 oases per village, or 3 oases per acc.?
If you have occupied 3 oases already, can your hero move to another village and occupy 3 more oases?

Wrighty116
13 May 2009, 05:07 PM
Do you get 3 oases per village, or 3 oases per acc.?
If you have occupied 3 oases already, can your hero move to another village and occupy 3 more oases?

You can take 3 oases per hero's mansion so basically 3 per village. You can move your hero between villages to make this possible. :P

Groggers
05 Jul 2009, 10:25 PM
Was just perusing, and though it is really well written, it could do with some more tactics regarding the use of oases.
Just an opinion ofc. :)

Sticky please though yus?

Tullia
20 Jul 2009, 11:41 PM
Was just perusing, and though it is really well written, it could do with some more tactics regarding the use of oases.
Just an opinion ofc. :)

Sticky please though yus?



Hmmm... what do you mean by "tactics regarding the use of oases"? You mean like overnight hiding of troops? Or matching them to village type to maximise res production?

Avi
20 Jul 2009, 11:56 PM
Sorry Essence, I think the layout leaves a lot to be desired and it's not very visually friendly. But that's all easily sorted if anyone is willing to contribute extra snippets of data or tables. If you've got something to add about oases and heroes, just write a para and we'll add it in. It saves hunting down the original author and we can just credit everybody at the bottom :)

1. Missing info about conquering an oasis from another player - if that player owns 3 oases, you must hit the oasis 1 time. If they own 1 oasis, you have to hit it 3 times. Loyalty is also replenished extremely quickly like a village conquer, so conquering an oasis must be quick and efficient. More than one hero can collaborate on an oasis conquer just like players sharing senators and chiefs.

2. Missing info about disbanding an oasis.

3. Missing info about troop types found in each oasis and the defense values of nature could be a good idea. Sometimes it is better to hit an oasis with solo cavalry or infantry to minimize losses.

4. Missing a look at the effect of percentages applied to the conquering villages. For example a 25% clay oasis will have a higher effect on a 5 clay village than a 4 clay village. Same goes for cropper capitals, wheat oases for 9cs and 15cs.

5. Missing hero information concerning ATK points. A hero must have at least 1 point on ATK for it to be sent alone and to survive. If a hero has 0 ATK points, it will die when hitting an empty oasis because it is representing 1 unit and 1 unit always dies in the form of a fake. A lot of people make this mistake so it should be included and explained.

Neater table for oases:
http://i563.photobucket.com/albums/ss72/S4yang/Travian/Oasis_tiles3.png

Tullia
21 Jul 2009, 12:06 AM
nice image avi :)

Can't blame essence for the ones she used though, I think she used the offical faq ones, which IMO are rubbishy! >giggle<

S6skunk
22 Jul 2009, 12:22 PM
Is there a reason why nothing happens when I click on any of the oases and also i can't send troops there?

Do you need a certain level of building etc before you can look at an oasis?

Tullia
22 Jul 2009, 12:54 PM
Is there a reason why nothing happens when I click on any of the oases and also i can't send troops there?

Do you need a certain level of building etc before you can look at an oasis?

Are you on s6? If so, it's a Classic server. The oases on a Classic server are not active, purely decorative; this guide only applies to T3 onwards.

S6skunk
22 Jul 2009, 03:16 PM
Yep S6
:(
Thanks for the clarification.

TiggerBits
22 Jul 2009, 07:50 PM
Hey, i have 2 villages and have one oases from the first village.

I have just got a level 10 heroes mansion on the second village and want to get an oases, do i do it the same way as normal??

acanthium32
22 Jul 2009, 11:04 PM
Hey, i have 2 villages and have one oases from the first village.

I have just got a level 10 heroes mansion on the second village and want to get an oases, do i do it the same way as normal??

Yup, clear the wildlife and send your hero from your second village :)

miganto
02 Aug 2009, 12:19 AM
It's been mentioned about the 10%, but do crannies come in to play here? I.e, if i have 5000 of each resource in the warehouse, and 5 maxed crannies, would a roman/gaul still get 500 of each resource?

Aesculapian
29 Sep 2009, 04:56 AM
It's been mentioned about the 10%, but do crannies come in to play here? I.e, if i have 5000 of each resource in the warehouse, and 5 maxed crannies, would a roman/gaul still get 500 of each resource?

No - in that case your Roman or Gaul would get nothing. It's 10% of the resources outside the cranny.

I presume the Teuton can get 10% of (resources outside cranny + 20% of resources in cranny), if you know what I mean - but I've never seen it put to the test.

senator.bg
29 Sep 2009, 08:31 AM
It is a bonus from the raw production of a field, so it won't increase with the factories, but it will increase with the gold production bonus.


If you hit an unoccuppied oasis, you will get 400 400 400 400. Production is 40/hour for bonus resource(s) and 10/hour for other resorces (x1 server).


The time of breeding and the number of animals are random.