PDA

View Full Version : Building GIDs



ToySoldier
20 Jul 2009, 10:39 PM
http://i31.tinypic.com/f3cqxs.png

~ Introduction
Each building in Travian has it's own unique ID. You can quickly switch through villages and buildings using these two techniques.

~ What does 'GID' mean?
Travian was programmed in German, so we would have to look for the German translation:

The g stands for Gebäude, which means Building.
The id is used in the web developing world to identify things (in thise case, a certain building)

~ The building GIDs
First, a list of all available building GIDs, updated with T3.5 (horse drinking trough)


http://i26.tinypic.com/2dvph6u.png


~ Using the GIDs
You can use building GIDs to quickly access a certain building in any village, regardless where the building is (so if it's on building spot 24 in one village and on 28 in an other village, that doesn't matter: It links to that building).

Example:
When creating plus links you can use this to access your barracks quickly in the current village you are in:


http://i26.tinypic.com/9blw0m.png


~ Explaining the URL:
http://speed.travian.co.uk/
The url of the server.

build.php
The url of the page.

gid=19
The data (gid).

~ Difference between 'ID' and 'GID'
build.php is used to show a building. Normally you would give a normal id, which links to a building spot. In this case, you link to a building using gid. Your links should look like this:


http://i28.tinypic.com/23ly3nm.png


As you see above the grey line: Barracks is the currently highlighted option.
This links to: build.php?gid=19
19 is the gid of barracks.

ToySoldier
22 Jul 2009, 11:29 AM
Comments, anyone?

deadman786
22 Jul 2009, 11:32 AM
nice but isn't it easier to go and just click on the building :P

ToySoldier
22 Jul 2009, 11:35 AM
nice but isn't it easier to go and just click on the building :P

Depends on how many villages you got and the village planning.
Using this option combined with newId (used to switch between villages) you can quickly switch from building A in village A to building B in village B.

Tullia
22 Jul 2009, 11:52 AM
Many people who use phones to play like this method as it's much easier :)

Avi
24 Jul 2009, 10:28 AM
I'll admit I found the pictures a little confusing. This could be because I am stupid! I understand exactly what you're showing because I have done it before. But for someone who hadn't done it before, then I think they could be changed to make it easier to view.

I am an extremely dedicated abuser of my plus links and piecing codes together to give me shortcuts not easily found, so I feel there could be a lot more to this guide... but did we decide village ids and other shortcuts were too complicated?

ToySoldier
24 Jul 2009, 05:20 PM
I'll admit I found the pictures a little confusing. This could be because I am stupid! I understand exactly what you're showing because I have done it before. But for someone who hadn't done it before, then I think they could be changed to make it easier to view.

I am an extremely dedicated abuser of my plus links and piecing codes together to give me shortcuts not easily found, so I feel there could be a lot more to this guide... but did we decide village ids and other shortcuts were too complicated?

Nah, the 'Z' thing didn't work.
I already planned to add something to switch between villages too, but I didn't had time for it yet.
(I got a job now, so I'm pretty busy)

Avi
24 Jul 2009, 07:06 PM
I got a job now, so I'm pretty busy
I will hire you as a Professional Guide Maker? 50 wheat per hour, how does it sound?

ToySoldier
24 Jul 2009, 07:46 PM
I will hire you as a Professional Guide Maker? 50 wheat per hour, how does it sound?

150! And a free cookie!

DanielJ97
03 Aug 2009, 04:01 PM
Good guide TS. Very usefull. :cool: