View Poll Results: Where will you build your main army?

Voters
100. You may not vote on this poll
  • 15c - Capital

    31 31.00%
  • 15c - Other than Capital

    21 21.00%
  • 9c - Capital

    5 5.00%
  • 9c - Other than Capital

    11 11.00%
  • Other resource spread – Capital

    6 6.00%
  • Other resource spread – Other than Capital

    26 26.00%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Where will you build your main army?

  1. #1
    Teuton MemberTeuton Member Apollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    335

    Default Where will you build your main army?

    There are various ways to build your hammer each with its own merits: I just wonder what people do and why.

    I think a 15c close to a 15c capital is best. You get to use the great barracks and stable and can be easily fed... the downside is you have to be shipping resources constantly while your army is stationed there, so you need to be relatively active.

  2. #2

    Default

    For me, It has to be a Village directly next to a 15c capital. For obvious reasons. Wether it is a 15,9 or 6 c imo doesn't really matter. Obviously a cropper is preferable however im not really fussed....

  3. #3

    Default

    in my strongest 4,4,4,6 close to a 15cropper, store the troops in the 15 c
    looking for a dual partner... on any sever


    also looking for a cool yoda sig xD

  4. #4

    Default

    I have a hammer in every village

  5. #5

    Default

    Hmm, a 4,4,4,6 for me, next to my 15c cap. On a speed server, a 15c next to or near my 15c cap, but on a normal server there's no point building it in a 15c as wheat is 3x worse than a speed, so wont matter much when your army gets big.

  6. #6

    Default

    i change every server, this time i'm going for a 15c capital, but 2 hammer 9c's near the 15c capital, 2 9c defence villages elsewhere, with obvious feeder villages, this is obviously a long term strategy lol, but for now i'm making do with a 'mini' army in my normal village, my 15c and 9c nearby and soon to have another 9c, i will also have an 'escort' in my 15c though, perhaps 1k infantry, just for chiefing, obviously hammers hit first etc... if any of that makes sense

    it is worth while saying though that i'm extremely active (woohoo love being a student over summer) and a heavy gold user, as well as a teut.. so this probably wouldn't work for the majority of players

  7. #7

    Default

    is it possible to have more than 1 hammer that is any use. well it is nice to sack mini hammers but only 1 hammer is really useful or desirable

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by japester View Post
    is it possible to have more than 1 hammer that is any use. well it is nice to sack mini hammers but only 1 hammer is really useful or desirable

    Yeah, I have 20 already

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by japester View Post
    is it possible to have more than 1 hammer that is any use. well it is nice to sack mini hammers but only 1 hammer is really useful or desirable
    yes and no ... some people will be talking about big armies and calling them hammers which is fine... it is exceptionally rare though for people to have two WWK .... can only think of a mere handful of players who are capable of that (and I'm excluding myself from that list)

  10. #10
    Prolific MemberProlific MemberProlific MemberProlific MemberProlific Member Elzebub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,930

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr mister View Post
    Yeah, I have 20 already
    No, you don't.

  11. #11

    Default

    i know of people who have had 2 hammers, being 65k and 120k. if u can count the 65k as a hammer?

    and yeah, try and get 2 croppers in 7x7 of eachother, if you cant get in the 7x7 of it then just make a 4446 next to the capital 15c.

  12. #12
    Avatar Winner jawwwwsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4,307

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cuda View Post
    i know of people who have had 2 hammers, being 65k and 120k. if u can count the 65k as a hammer?

    and yeah, try and get 2 croppers in 7x7 of eachother, if you cant get in the 7x7 of it then just make a 4446 next to the capital 15c.
    hahaha I wonder who that was?? probably some idiot xD

    you should be home now yes!!!!
    Previously - Jazzy Jeff | Lord Pan | Lorde | Hammer

    Quote Originally Posted by Elk33dp View Post
    Maybe if it was anyone else, but Josh is too talented to leave any hint at the real target. It's basically wack-a-mole.


  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by who,me? View Post
    No, you don't.
    Yes I do .

  14. #14
    New Poster fairforever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Elgin / Scotland
    Posts
    47

    Default

    sorry noob question but from how much do you count it as a hammer ??? 100k 150k 200???
    be mighty, play fair

  15. #15
    Prolific MemberProlific MemberProlific MemberProlific MemberProlific Member Elzebub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,930

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr mister View Post
    Yes I do .
    On s1 right now, no you don't.

  16. #16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by who,me? View Post
    On s1 right now, no you don't.
    He does. Trust me.

    SAU & L E G

  17. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Apollo View Post
    There are various ways to build your hammer each with its own merits: I just wonder what people do and why.

    I think a 15c close to a 15c capital is best. You get to use the great barracks and stable and can be easily fed... the downside is you have to be shipping resources constantly while your army is stationed there, so you need to be relatively active.
    I did that on s2, founded 2 15c's next to each other, one being a capital, the other being the GB village, I suppose it's good in the sense it has 4k more wheat storage space than a normal village, but it doesn't make much difference to be honest...
    Quote Originally Posted by klive View Post

    but of course, im in MIA and only have 5 troops, which are most probably disabled in some way, so im probably talking out of my rear

    - cliffy x

  18. #18

    Default

    I usually go for a 4446, as the later stages on a normal server a 15c, 10k wheat bonus is not going to effect the negative that much...

    But if I find a 15c 125% with a 15c next to it.. not going to turn down something like that
    Uk 6 Round 1 - Travian Version 3.0/3.1 Hybrid - Uk Record Off points + Record Hero

  19. #19
    Junior Teuton Member Wurstkuchen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Well, last NOX round, I had a 9c, next to two 15c's. So, I had more than enough wheat, so the 9c (but stationed the troops at the capital) was used as the hammer

    ^^Thanks for the sig Saffy

  20. #20

    Default

    I dont get why people store troops IN their capital. Surely you'd keep them in an oasis so you could raid the capital's wheat and NPC it...
    Quote Originally Posted by klive View Post

    but of course, im in MIA and only have 5 troops, which are most probably disabled in some way, so im probably talking out of my rear

    - cliffy x

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •